Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

Science: "friends" of bed bugs

(20 posts)
  1. battlinbugz

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Jan 20 2015 18:45:31
    #

Login to Send PM

No, I don't mean those of us who are actually bed bug enthusiasts. Although you gotta admit they are some fascinating creatures on some levels, from a "creature" standpoint. I just wish their food source wasn't us.

We know there are some insects and arachnids that are hostile to bed bugs. Meaning, BB's are meals for them.

Are there any insects that are actively friendly to, or cooperative with BB's?

I will never forget the time a silverfish in my unit seemed to be leading the way for a bed bug. They couldn't have been more than 4 inches apart. Same rate of speed too. Kinda cute in a weird way.

Not a pro. I have some knowledge and a success story, both thanks to this site.
  2. Canuck

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Jan 20 2015 22:04:57
    #

Login to Send PM

Once found a nymph, about a 2nd instar, nicely nestled in amongst carpet beetle shed skins.

Sheree Swindle / certified K9-assisted bed bug inspector
  3. loubugs

old timer

Posted 2 years ago
    Wed Jan 21 2015 11:14:04
    #

Login to Send PM

I've seen instances where cockroaches and bed bugs shared harborage areas on wooden shelving. Wood not painted or stained or coated in any way, just raw.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/lou_bugs_pix/2321564921/

Professional entomologist/arachnologist. I consult on all matters dealing with insects and arachnids, including those of natural history and biology to pest management and forensic entomology investigations.
  4. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Wed Jan 21 2015 12:36:49
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

I can certainly confirm that carpet beetles will happily live in symbiosis with bedbugs. I have a few classic "high density" shots where the "snow drift" of BB cast skins it dotted with CB larval skins as they will happily consume the debris.