Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

Science and scents

(6 posts)
  1. battlinbugz

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Dec 4 2014 20:26:06
    #

Login to Send PM

There seems to be agreement among the experts that our little friends love SLIGHTLY smelly human clothes (like after a light workout).

There also seems to be a lot of literature around lavender and how it repels bed bugs. I don't know how much science is around that but from what I remember reading, that goes way way back.

Cedar has also been mentioned a lot as a repellent but that seems to have mixed results.

Is there any confirmed evidence that other scents attract or repel bed bugs? For example, maybe the females like sandalwood and the males like musk, lol.

[NOTE: this is just a bio kinda question only. We know from our experts and pros here that repelling bed bugs is almost always a no-no when it comes to prevention or treatment.]

Not a pro. I have some knowledge and a success story, both thanks to this site.
  2. NY Bug Man

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Dec 4 2014 23:48:04
    #

Login to Send PM

I believe its called host Kairomones (The name escapes me so forgive if i am wrong). There was a study done with clothing or pairs of socks. One pair of socks was worn and thrown into a room with 6 or 7 other socks and most of the bugs migrated toward the worn sock.
    Lou may be able to confirm this. But i am not sure of any natural oils or scents that attract them.

There are chemicals/scents that can work as repellants but not in the "ideal" way which would make bed bugs completely vacate a home. Any type of work using repellants will make the job 10x more difficult in my opinion.

Attractants make more sense than a repellant would.

3. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Fri Dec 5 2014 6:32:07
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

I think you want to read the Stephen Kells work on aggregation of bedbugs.