Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

Question for Paul/experts: Bedlam Plus or any residual treatment

(7 posts)
  1. battlinbugz

Posted 2 years ago
    Fri Nov 28 2014 16:16:40
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi -

One time I sprayed Bedlam Plus directly on a bed bug and he was dead in a couple hours. The sample was in a small baggie. I don't THINK it was suffocation that did him in, since they need very little air according to what I read here.

How long does it take before walking across the residual takes effect and kills a bed bug? I would imagine it depends on the age of the bug and other factors.

This may not even be answerable because of "other factors" depending on how many there are, but I thought I'd ask.

(Note: I will say the residual works pretty quickly on silverfish, which BP is also indicated to control. It does well with them.)

Not a pro. I have some knowledge and a success story, both thanks to this site.
  2. P Bello

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Fri Nov 28 2014 16:34:26
    #

Login to Send PM

OK.

Let's all understand that to best kill bed bugs we need to assure we apply the residual to the harborage areas such that the bed bugs will have long term contact with the insecticide in order to assure that sufficient exposure to the pesticide is achieved.

Please note that a bed bug walking across a treated band, as if the pest guy sprayed a twelve inch swath, around your bed would likely not be killed from such an exposure.

This is so for a number of reasons but mostly because the critter did not pick up a sufficient dosage.

Not to confuse matters but, during lab studies a few years back we found that well fed bed bugs needed to be omitted from such residual exposure tests because their chubby bellies tended to rub along the treated surface which led to their demise. However, using such fed bed bugs skewed the results in favor of the pesticide product.