Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Question about Protect-A-Bed + My story

(11 posts)
  1. ExtremelyAngry

newbite

Posted 10 years ago
    Mon Jan 19 2009 12:41:20
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,
    I am a college student who recently moved in to my first 1br apartment this past September 2008. Soon after moving in someone started posting signs on residents’ doors warning us about bed bugs in the building. As a result the leasing company had an exterminator check the apartments. When they came to mine all they done was ask me if I had them (I said No) and the guy took a quick glance at the ceiling (looking for bugs?) and one of the seams of my bed. He told me if I had them I would see waste/fecal matter in that area, by the stitching. But my mattress was fairly new, had bought it only 1 year prior and it was spotless so he said it looked like I had never had them. I then Ieft town to complete an internship in a different state for a few months. I would come back to my apartment every other weekend to check on things and through my visits I learned that the bed bug concern had resurfaced in the building and while I had been gone exterminators had been checking and treating apartments.

The first Saturday morning I happened to come back they had planned to make extermination rounds that morning… I had no idea because I was gone they came wanting access at 8am and told me I needed to vacate the premises for at least four hours. When I started asking questions I *think* the guy told me something to the effect that they were going to be misting some “fog” and putting some special “dust” into my outlets/electrical switches to keep the bugs from coming into my apartment. I complied. When I returned hours later I didn’t smell a thing (I expected to small pesticide), but then again I left my window open to ventilate before I left.