Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Detection / Identification of bed bugs

Question about harborages

(4 posts)
  1. bedbugsbugme

Posted 5 days ago
    Thu May 18 2017 15:38:04
    #

Login to Send PM

Just a quick question. Will bed bugs harbour in clear plastic? Like if we still have the plastic on our box spring (no bed frame) would they hide inside the folds of clear plastic? Or would they prefer to hide somewhere dark? Plus there are still 2 passive monitors on thd bed.

I'm not an expert. Just sharing what I learned from my experience.
  2. BigDummy

oldtimer

Posted 5 days ago
    Thu May 18 2017 16:03:01
    #

Login to Send PM

I would think that the texture would be more off putting than the light, bed bugs aren't built to climb smooth surfaces. The monitor would be a much comfier harborage.

Bird dreams are not admissible in court.
  3. bedbugsbugme

Posted 5 days ago
    Thu May 18 2017 16:48:41
    #

Login to Send PM

Thanks. 😁

4. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 4 days ago
    Fri May 19 2017 11:02:20
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

In your case its not great concern as bed bugs already have an optimal harbourage in place. The smooth plastic is not something that they will want to remain on for long periods.

As not not being adapted to climb a recent paper gained some wider press attention:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-4316370/Why-pest-control-doesn-t-work-bed-bugs.html

I first mentioned this a few years ago having attending a presentation by Prof Lee where we presented data about the two forms of locomotion, walking on tarsal claws and walking on tibial pads. Suffice to say that there are much wider implications to this physiology than first meet the eye and it explains why some designs of product will not and could never had worked.