Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Question about bed bug behaviour

(5 posts)
  1. bedbugsbugme

Posted 1 month ago
    Sat Mar 18 2017 11:21:55
    #

Login to Send PM

So you have a hitchhiker from somewhere on your clothes. You sit on your bed first thing when you get home. (I do, to take my sons snow suit off) the hitchhiker falls off of you. What does it do? Does it hide immediately and attack you at 4am? Or does it crawl around for a bit and try get to you? Does it depend if it was starving or fed recently?

Im just trying to make sense of the bed bug I killed on my bed the other night. If there was a possibility this was a loner we picked up at the second hand shop.

I'm not an expert. Just sharing what I learned from my experience.
  2. jim danca

oldtimer

Posted 1 month ago
    Sat Mar 18 2017 18:15:50
    #

Login to Send PM

Generally speaking, hungry bedbugs will venture out into the open, especially if they've just hitched a ride. I once left an infested site, drove four miles back to town, stopped at a grocery store to get a salad buffet. I sat down inside the store and enjoyed my meal. I went back out to my car, put the key in the ignition, and a bedbug came climbing up the front of my shirt. I jumped out of the car and took my shirt off and shook it out. When I got home, I stripped all my clothes off in the garage and put everything straight into the washing machine. Going on seven years of bedbug killing.

PCO and inventor of a bio active bedbug trap
  3. barelyliving

Posted 1 month ago
    Sat Mar 18 2017 20:13:57
    #

Login to Send PM

Have you ever brought any home, Jim? Just curious. I know you would be able to make short work of it if you did.

4. bedbugsbugme

Posted 1 month ago
    Sat Mar 18 2017 20:56:36
    #

Login to Send PM