Ozone Experiment

(55 posts)
  1. JimPCO

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Sun Apr 8 2007 9:25:58
    #

Login to Send PM

Hello to All, I own and operate a Pest Control Firm and have been trying to find an effective and less expensive treatment method for Bed Bugs. I am a dog trainer as well and have used Ozone generators in my kennels to eliminate the odors of a typical kennel with great success. When I heard that Ozone was being looked at to control Bed Bugs I was very interested. So much so that I purchased an Ozone Generator that produced 7000 grams per hour. The units in my kennels produce 100 gr/hr. I placed bed bugs in a 15 x 15 room which equalled 1800 cubic ft. I ran the unit for 12 hours and had a 50% mortality rate of the bugs. I had a customer with a BB problem and she agreed to allow the test be conducted in her home. Because of the size of the area we let the unit run for 24hours and 6 hours to air out. Upon inspection I found several dead insects but I did find a few live insects.
    I believe that Ozone will work but the problem is finding a unit that will produce enough ozone to do the job. The unit I purchased was $2200 and my guess is I'd need at least one more unit, possibly 2. When we use ozone at this level pets,plants,and people need to vacate the building as the air is unbreathable. It's also recommended to remove sensitive items. Ozone will effect rubber, fur coats, and paints.
    I'm in discussions with a some people to expand this study to the university level and hope to be able to update this post from time to time.
    I did notice that some posts show people applying Phantom. In a recent study out of Virginia Tech, Phantom took 19 days to kill Bed bugs and during that time the insects layed 50% more eggs than those not subjected to chemicals. I would be careful applying these products as a homeowner. But if you must, keep records of what and when you applied so you can inform PCO's if and when you call for ones help.

2. Nobugsonme