Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

If you were given the opportunity to design a bed bug resistant hotel room,.

(5 posts)
  1. CarKeys

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Mar 31 2015 22:29:13
    #

Login to Send PM

What would you include?

Not a bed bug proof hotel mind you, but one that would discourage bed bugs.

Your choice of budget unlimited or realistic.

2. Nobugsonme

your host

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Mar 31 2015 23:13:25
    #

Login to Send PM

I am not an expert. But I'd recommend:

• Comforters with removable covers washed for each visitor (European style duvets).
    • Simple platform bed design with no excessive bedding, dust ruffles, etc.
    • Simple 50s-style design when it comes to other furniture: sofas, tables, etc. This means sofas have simple, thin legs (not fabric flowing to floor) and other furniture stands on legs so you can clean underneath it. Everything is well designed and sealed so inspection and cleaning is easy.
    • Mirrors and artwork can be easily removed and checked.
    • Bed bug monitors are in use.
    • Staff are well-trained to recognize bed bugs and their signs, and look for them constantly while doing routine cleaning and maintenance tasks. Desk staff and managers have a bed bug plan to address any evidence or complaints immediately.
    • Monitors are checked weekly.
    • Routine inspections are also carried out by a trained professional.

Of these, the last four may be the most important.

3. Nobugsonme

your host

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Mar 31 2015 23:15:53
    #

Login to Send PM

Motel 6 made some of these changes, though not explicitly to discourage bed bugs (and in 2008):

http://bedbugger.com/2008/08/18/motel-6-room-design-changes-cooler-more-functional-less-bed-bug-friendly/

I started and run the site but am "not an expert."
  4. P Bello

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Wed Apr 1 2015 0:53:16
    #

Login to Send PM