Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed Bug Treatment

How Do I get the bedbugs out of my cloth recliner and sofa?

(9 posts)
  1. Bed_Buggin_In_Boston

newbite

Posted 6 years ago
    Tue Nov 6 2007 7:05:22
    #

Login to Send PM

Hello I am a newbie,

Been reading through the site and have got helpgul information. So I successfully got the bed bugs out of my bed room by doing some seep intense cleaning and doing the bed covering thing. But I have one more problem.

How in the world do I get them out of my new recliner? and my sofa? My recliner is brand new. My sofa if I cannot get them out I am willing to throw away had for 4 years nows, but teh recliner I don’t want to part with. Would you igf you paid $600.00 I cannot leave the furniture out in the sun to kill them or freeze the furniture. Has anyone had any success stories regarding cloth fruniture? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE I NEED HELP!

I read through the blogs to try to find answers but couldn’t find the answer I exactly needed.

Thanks fo everyones help,

Pooey

2. pleasehelp

Posted 6 years ago
    Tue Nov 6 2007 10:08:15
    #

Login to Send PM

I just sealed my recliner into a huge plastic bag and won't use it for 18 months. The general consensus here is that the bbs will starve to death in that time. A pco could treat it with poisons, as well. Or maybe steam???? But I don't see how the steam could penetrate every part of the recliner. Good luck.

3. Anonymous

Unregistered

Posted 6 years ago
    Tue Nov 6 2007 14:04:09
    #

Login to Send PM

Furniture can be treated by PCOs with pesticides (sprays and dusts), so for most items there is no need to a) throw it out, or b) store it for 18 months.

Some PCOs (or bedbug sufferers) also use steam. It has to be the driest possible steam application and care must be taken to dry the item thoroughly and not end up with mold. As pleasehelp says, it's difficult to know if steam has penetrated all hiding places.