(6 posts)
  1. tracyhere

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Dec 14 2015 16:57:13
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

I had a heat treatment done by a company in Charleston, SC. 2 days after the treatment, my family finds 3 alive adult sized bed bugs in the area that was our original "ground zero."

We called the PCO Co. and their justification was that this IS NORMAL! That the heat will not penetrate all of the house, especially in cracks in the walls and duct-work and the "silica" (diatomaceous earth) takes up to a month to kill at the nest.

Pardon my french, but doesn't this sound like bull s**t?

I'm trying to get some verification that what they said isn't true from others before I go back to the PCO and demand they redo the heat treatment.

Thank you for your help,
    Tracy

2. jim danca

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Dec 14 2015 17:16:01
    #

Login to Send PM

I've been doing this for five years and I think heat treatments are sometimes oversold regarding their effectiveness. Did they install a monitoring system for you?

PCO and inventor of a bio active bedbug trap
  3. tracyhere

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Dec 14 2015 17:24:07
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi Jim,

Thanks for your reply. They have a follow up inspection at +30 days using a bed bug detecting dog.

Do you think that it was too high of an expectation that the bed bugs in the walls would be killed or do you think this was PCO based error?

What would you do if you were me?

Thanks,
    Tracy

4. thebugsgomarching

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Dec 14 2015 18:14:14
    #

Login to Send PM

We have yet to get treatment (found one adult 8 weeks ago, and nothing else after), but the pco we brought in for inspection with a canine also does heat treatment.