(2 posts)
  1. BuggingForInformation

newbite

Posted 1 week ago
    Sun Nov 12 2017 13:32:56
    #

Login to Send PM

So,

I'm going to record my experience hiring a PCO to heat treat for Carpet Beetles. There are no posts that deal with getting rid of Carpet Beetles on this forum, but they are just as difficult, if not, more difficult to get rid of than bed bugs. Also, I have gained a lot of info from this collective bunch, so I feel obliged to share my own experiences. I have chosen this because I have an infant daughter, and dousing my apartment with pesticides hasn't worked in the past, nor do I want to do this to her.

I have been battling carpet beetles for five years. I have brought it to numerous apartments, and despite my attempts to put all my clothes through the highest setting in a dryer before moving, they follow me everywhere. So I believe they are hiding out in my belongings and not just my clothes. I got them from Brooklyn, and I wonder if they are more vicious because they are from there. They keep biting my clothes, and now are into my baby's clothes. My husband and I fight all the time because he thinks I'm imagining them but there are constant holes in all of our clothes. For whatever reason, they love our thin cotton clothes the best. I have thrown away many loved pieces. It's been a lonely struggle. I would not do heat treatment for my apartment unless I was moving. From what I understand, heat treating an apartment is difficult because the bugs could just easily move to the next apartment. I am doing heat treatment now because we are moving, and all our stuff will be consolidated into a UHaul.