Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed Bug Treatment

Heat treatment cost? And electricity use?

(15 posts)
  1. futureBBmom

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Jun 23 2011 2:22:21
    #

Login to Send PM

My house is probably 1,200 square foot ground level with a 990 square foot basement. Does anyone know about what that would run? My wiring probably couldn't handle the pull from those heaters. Do they need to use your electricity or do they use a generator? Do they need electricity if it's done with propane?

2. MoreThanOnceBitten

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Jun 23 2011 7:37:35
    #

Login to Send PM

I'm not an expert, but from what I've read, thermal treatments use either propane heaters or have their own trucks with generators that run their heating units. I don't think they plug into your wall outlet or anything.

As far as cost, it depends on where you live. I was given a range of price from a place in Indianapolis of 2000-4000 dollars depending on the size of your home. I imagine a smallish house would be on the low end of that. My house isn't much bigger than yours, maybe about 1400 square feet with no basement, I'm on a slab. So I figured mine would run about 2000-2500.

When I added up the cost of getting a conventional treatment, with the man hours of prep (thermal takes prep, but much less) and the possible return visits, vs. thermal etc, I decided the price really wasn't that much different.

I don't have a confirmed case of BBs so I haven't gotten anything yet, but that's what I found out so far. Others with more expertise can weigh in of course.

3. mindkites

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Jun 23 2011 9:03:32
    #

Login to Send PM