Flea and tick collar contains deltamethrin

(21 posts)
  1. bugbasher

Posted 6 years ago
    Wed Jun 4 2008 8:54:12
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi all,
    Thought I would share this info to show us how hardy these little monsters are.I have been using a flea and tick collar for the last 3 years that I just found out contains 4 percent deltamethrin as the active ingredient.Before anyone gets excited hoping to protect their loved doggie from bb bites,let me assure you it has no effect on the beasts.It works great for fleas and tick,however, as I have never even seen one since I started using these collars about 3 years ago.I go to tick infested woods regularly with them.
    I was just suprised to learn that the ingredient has had no effect on them getting bitten as far as I can tell.It's possible that some would bite and die,but not likely as I would assume I'd been finding dead ones around en mass.During this ordeal one of my dogs has been especially hard hit as he has almost no hair.I used to find the blood spots on the clean sheets upon coming home,so I know for a fact he was indeed being bitten. Luckily, it's much better now although not down to zero yet,seeing any signs is now very rare and used to be a daily occurence.I just wish there was a better way to protect the pets since they are in the residence 24/7 for the most part.

2. KillerQueen

oldtimer

Posted 6 years ago
    Wed Jun 4 2008 22:21:03
    #

Login to Send PM

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Entomologists at the University of Kentucky report that some bed bug populations across the United States are
    resistant to pyrethroid insecticides.
    Alvaro Romero, a doctoral student, and his co-investigators, Kenneth Haynes (project leader), Michael Potter, and Daniel Potter, found that
    adult bed bugs from four infestations collected from separate locations in Kentucky and Ohio were several thousand-fold resistant to