Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » General Topics

Do bed bugs always 'bleed' when you squash them?

(10 posts)
  1. scared-girl

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Nov 28 2010 16:02:48
    #

Login to Send PM

I had found a live bug and my landlord gave it to an exterminator to ID. It was a bed bug apparently. I wish I took a photo. It was the size of a lady bug but with a really flat body. Thing is, I semi crushed it when I grabbed it in a tissue, and NO blood was released. Do they always 'bleed' or was it just starving?

I haven't seen anything else yet (8 days later). I am wondering if it was indeed a BB, and maybe displaying starving behavior (as it came out a 7:00 am to a fully lit room). Would that be a good sign of just being a random bug -- as I've had no bites or physical signs?

Thoughts?

2. BedBugPanic

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Nov 28 2010 19:12:53
    #

Login to Send PM

I could be wrong, since I'm not a pro, but a bed bug would only "bleed" when squished if they are full of blood from a recent meal.

3. Jenn28

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Nov 28 2010 21:03:21
    #

Login to Send PM

BedBugPanic is right, they'll only bleed after a blood meal. Because they are so flat before a meal, they are impossible to squish in a tissue when you catch them and are trying to kill them! Buggers!!!

4. scared-girl

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Nov 28 2010 21:05:26
    #

Login to Send PM

Well... at least I wasn't his meal. Phew! Die, dirty bugger, die!!!

5. Louise

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Nov 29 2010 11:44:10
    #

Login to Send PM

Jenn28 - 14 hours ago  » 
    BedBugPanic is right, they'll only bleed after a blood meal. Because they are so flat before a meal, they are impossible to squish in a tissue when you catch them and are trying to kill them! Buggers!!!

Seriously? They can't be "squished" when they're flat? Does that mean that putting 130 pounds of weight on a paperback library book won't ensure that any bed bugs that *may* be inside are killed?