Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Detection / Identification of bed bugs

Do BBs Have A SMELL?

(11 posts)
  1. misery

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Dec 16 2014 1:06:26
    #

Login to Send PM

I am curious! I heard this, and the place I moved into (that I am now out of) had an on again/off again akin to skunk or something borderline gross/sweet. Could that have been BB related??!

Not a pro here. Call me Jon Snow...... for I know nothing, except what I've experienced.
  2. spicynat

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Dec 16 2014 1:25:08
    #

Login to Send PM

Hello,
    I'm not an expert but I've heard professionals talking about a sweet(but not nice sweet) smell but I think it's usually when the infestation is heavy I believe. Not sure if it's the BBs themselves who smell or of it's their feces.

3. robinsmom

oldtimer

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Dec 16 2014 1:27:31
    #

Login to Send PM

It's just my nose but to me bb smell musty. The skunky smell, to my nose, is more likely a stinkbug.

I'm not an expert just a dumb struggling bed bugger like every body else.
  4. misery

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Dec 16 2014 1:49:26
    #

Login to Send PM

It was almost like a stink bug smell, but not quite. Like an onion was going bad in the walls with some apples or something. I hated the smell, I had NO idea it could be BB related! That is good to know that they can smell. I only found out too late that the building was infested for no less than eight months. Live and learn! I am still freaking out now, hoping I have not brought them with us. I still don't know how I will ever trust my cars again or when I will feel calm pulling my computer out of storage...... and who knows when I will feel good enough to say 'I beat them and they are gone!'

5. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Dec 16 2014 9:02:07
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

Yes there is a smell associated with bedbugs, its the scent they use to train detection dogs.