Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Could they JUST be in my walls? (Pic included of PCO identified BB)

(14 posts)
  1. skiniscrawling

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Tue Aug 26 2014 22:22:17
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi there. I've been lurking around this forum for about a month and a half now, ever since I first suspected my apartment had bed bugs. This is my first time posting, though. I was hoping the experts as well as fellow BB sufferers could weigh in on this:

Can bed bugs live exclusively inside the walls of a building?

The reason I ask is because when I first suspected I had BBs, I called out a PCO and he declared my bed and bedroom to be bed bug free. This was in early July. In all that time, I have never seen a cast skin, fecal stains, or blood stains in, around, or near my bed. I did incur a series of suspicious looking bites on my feet around mid-July, but I haven't had any since.

Then, last Tuesday, I found this guy on my wall by my light switch:

photo (4) by koh_85, on Flickr

Same PCO confirmed it was a bed bug. My first treatment is scheduled for tomorrow.

But I'm just wondering....compared to a lot of the stories I've read on here, I seem to have it pretty easy (no other bites, no signs of the buggers save the specimen, etc.). Is it possible the bugs are living in my walls because they can't get to me (I have ClimbUp Interceptors on my bed as well as my couch in the living room, my bed's away from the wall, I have no bedskirts, etc.)? And if that's true, does that make it harder or easier to treat for them? My entire complex is being treated, but I think they are focusing the most on my unit, since I was the one to find the bug.

Also, and this may be just wishful thinking, but if one of our experts could confirm that that is indeed a BB, it would be helpful. I keep thinking to myself that maybe, just maybe, the problem has been misdiagnosed...

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts on this.