bug ID, please! bed bug? [image added! Expert ID needed]

(3 posts)
  1. JHinKS

newbite

Posted 2 months ago
    Tue Aug 8 2017 15:21:40
    #

Login to Send PM

This is my first time posting, please let me know if I've uploaded incorrectly.

We moved into our house and realized we had inherited a few roaches from the warehouse where our items were stored for about a month. Everything I found was dead, but we had the house professionally treated to be safe.

Once last week and again today I found this bug -- last week on a bed pillow that was on the floor and today in a hallway bathroom. Trying to determine if it's residual from the roach issue or if we are dealing with something different this time?

I am considering bed bug because of it's appearance, but also because my husband traveled recently. I woke up over the weekend with about 50 bites, but based on their placement on my body and our recent outdoor activity I assumed they were from chiggers.

Other than these bugs I haven't found any evidence. We have all white bedding so I assumed maybe I would see blood stains, fecal stains, etc. I also haven't slept well the last few nights worried about bed bugs, but a flashlight in our bed in the middle of the night hasn't shown anything either.

PLEASE HELP! Freaking out at the thought of bed bugs. I got quotes for the bed bug dogs and/or heat treatment by a professional in our area and couldn't believe how expensive it is. Looking to get an ID before I even consider that route.

bedbug by JKinKS, on Flickr

2. loubugs

old timer

Posted 2 months ago
    Tue Aug 8 2017 16:12:24
    #

Login to Send PM

Nothing posted??

Professional entomologist/arachnologist. I consult on all matters dealing with insects and arachnids, including those of natural history and biology to pest management and forensic entomology investigations.
  3. BigDummy

oldtimer

Posted 2 months ago
    Tue Aug 8 2017 16:19:42
    #

Login to Send PM

Spam filter hungry!