Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Bed bugs in dorm room - what do I do??

(4 posts)
  1. buggedstudent

newbite

Posted 5 years ago
    Mon Sep 8 2008 12:06:49
    #

Login to Send PM

I am a college student living in an on-campus dorm room. I moved in just over a week ago. The other day I found these black specks on my pillow in under my sheets, and this morning I woke up with what looked like bug bites all over my neck; the bites were very itchy, and when I scratched them, they became red and inflamed. I look everything up online, so I did some research on the internet that said that both of these things are signs of bed bugs. I also found a small blood spot on my pillow, which is supposed to be another sign. Not to mention that college campuses seem to be having a big problem with bed bugs. I found this website and read about other college students who have had this problem, and it sounds like the admins in their school don't take them too seriously and don't treat the problem correctly. So my question is, what should I do? Who should I tell that I think I might have bugs in my room, and how should I tell them? I seem to react pretty badly to the bites, since my skin swelled up a lot, but I read that some people don't have any reaction, so maybe other people have the problem but just don't know? I don't want to "wait and see" if the situation could spread to someone else's room, but how do I convince people that my room might really have a problem?

2. Itchy-Scratchy

Posted 5 years ago
    Mon Sep 8 2008 12:33:09
    #

Login to Send PM

I agree, you don't want to wait and see. And yes, others could have bed bugs and not react to bites, therefore being unaware of the problem.