Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Psychological and Health problems caused by bed bugs (besides bites)

70 bedbug bites in 2 days. i am going crazy! i need help!

(12 posts)
  1. melis

newbite

Posted 6 years ago
    Fri Jan 7 2011 0:29:21
    #

Login to Send PM

i am a foreign student in my first semester in new york. i just moved from my first apartment in brooklyn to a room (railroad) on the upper east side i been here for a month. 2 weeks ago i got three bites on my knee and three on my left wrist. they were small and went away after a few days, although i scratched them a lot, you can see the scabs still.

anyway, i thought maybe it was a flea, i cleaned the sheets and my clothes, and i was okay for a while. until two days ago. i slept at my boyfriends place, the next day i got home and i sat down on my bed. after 10 minutes i felt something on my wrist, and then on my back, all of a sudden a bunch of bites appeared. they got really big, round/oval and red. they itched like crazy. i took the sheets off, put them in the washer, took a shower, put clothes in dryer, put new clothes on and left to see my boyfriend. i slept at his place again. i was unsure if my bites came from his place or my place, since i had bites two weeks ago, which appeared one morning when i woke up in my own bed.

the next morning i woke up with more bites on my hands and feet. i went to the emergency room and waited hours and hours, til a nurse practitioner (!) saw me, was very unfriendly and told me i shouldnt worry, those are bed bugs, i need to go home, clean my shit, and take allergy pills and cream which she subscribed. i went home. i was really anxious and didnt like the way they treated me.

so the same evening (yesterday) i went to a dermatologist, who sat down with me and asked a lot of questions. he said my bites look like hives, but he is 3/4 sure that i have bed bugs.

my mom (who is far away, and is just guessing too) thinks its fleas.